Reduce; Reuse; Recycle; Replenish – Art Journal Page

Last week’s Art Journal Adventure prompt was another guest blog post by my friend Jana.  Her theme was “trash to treasure” and she had all sorts of ingenious ideas for using everyday objects destined for the recycling bin as tools for mixed media art.  I ended up keeping my page pretty simple, with barely any layers, because I was short on time but I have squirreled away many of Jana’s ideas for future reference.

I started my page without having any idea of where it would go or what might emerge.  I had a foodie magazine in the recycling bin so I rescued it and, selecting brightly coloured pages, ripped it into strips using a ruler.  This meant the strips were more or less straight and of a uniform width.  I adhered the strips to the page and coated the whole thing in matte medium so that I could work on top of it.

37a Recycle-Reuse-Repurpose-Replenish

It stayed that way for almost the entire week, sitting on my art table waiting for me to have time to return to it.  When I did sit down at the art table again, I decided to do some negative space painting and – since I like simplified female figures – that was what ended up emerging as I added the white acrylic.  I seem to have a thing right now for puffy, cloud-like hair too but in this case I think it worked out well as the width of the hair balances out the width of the ballooning skirt.

37b Recycle-Reuse-Repurpose-Replenish

Next time I sat down in my art space, I added the details using various media.  The last thing I did was to stamp the words “reduce”, “reuse”, “recycle”, and ‘replenish” in the space around the figure as that seemed in the spirit of the page.

37c Recycle-Reuse-Repurpose-Replenish.jpg

16 thoughts on “Reduce; Reuse; Recycle; Replenish – Art Journal Page

  1. I love the final result, Laura, and appreciate the way that you shared with us some of the intermediate steps in the process that you used. I must confess that when I saw the first shot, I was skeptical that you would be able to make anything coherent out of the jumble of images, but once again your creativity exceeded the limitations of my imagination. Bravo.

    • Thanks, Mike. It was pretty chaotic, I agree. I put those strips down and then thought, “Now what?” because I had no idea how to proceed either. Negative space painting helped me knock back some of the chaos and keep it confined to specific areas.

    • Thanks. I keep the odd image from magazines, thinking it will find a place in my art journal, but these are all pages I would normally have junked. I need to be disciplined enough to not become a pack rat now.

  2. What a super way to use those magazine pages! I used to love making collages (Friday night in my early teens saw me pouncing on the week’s TV guide and harvesting my favourite pictures 😀), but this method takes that idea and runs with it! Great piece, Laura!

    • Thank you. I think it was a handy way to eradicate that mental block that sometimes occurs with a blank page. Once I had that magazine layer down, it was much easier just to mess around and come up with something.

Leave a Reply

