Dark and Light

Last week’s Life Book lesson was taken by Andrea Gomoll and was all about painting a figure who was caught between an area of darkness and an area of light.  The medium was primarily watercolour, which I always enjoy working with.  I decided to place my figure in the centre of the paper with her hair flowing upwards to create a clear dividing line between the dark area and the light area.  I enjoyed letting the paint in those background areas bleed into one another and create blooms.  I built the flesh tones up gradually, using a neutral palette first and then layering the stronger colours on top, dividing the face between the cool blues of the dark side and the warm yellows and pinks of the light side.  I possibly should have gone more dramatic with the shading and lighting on the face.  I grounded the piece by painting black into the torso area of the figure and then tried to make the background and the figure cohere by adding spatter in white and black watercolour.

31 Dark and Light

6 thoughts on “Dark and Light

  1. Very nice light/dark contrast. I really like the grounding in the dark at the bottom, and, of course the face itself. You have a wonderful style for faces (those 100 really paid off!)

    • Thanks, Ellie. Someone else recently said the same thing about working on that series of faces helping me and I think it’s true. The familiarity of face mapping has given me more confidence with placing features and getting the proportions more accurate and I think I have also developed a style of drawing things like eyes and noses.

Leave a Reply

