Iris

Last week’s Art Journal Adventure prompt was “colour gradations”.  I was greedy and decided I wanted to use all of the colours of the rainbow rather than shades of one colour for a monochromatic scheme.  That gave me the idea of drawing Iris.  I painted Iris, goddess of the rainbow, last year with mixed results and there are definite echos of that piece in my art journal illustrations – the black background, the pale hair, the sweeping curve of the body – but in a more naive style.  I jump between styles a lot.  That probably makes me a “Jack of all trades and master of none” but it also stops me getting creatively stuck and bored.

22 Iris - Colour Gradation

11 thoughts on “Iris

  1. So well done! The detail in the face complements the simplicity of the rest. And who doesn’t love watercolor rainbow colors!

Leave a Reply

