Rainbow Art Journal – Criss Cross

I love the combination of red and turquoise.  I love turquoise generally but there is just something about the combination of those two colours that really makes both sing, perhaps because it is an unexpected palette that works surprisingly well.  It’s a palette I have used quite a few times in my art work so when it came to the red pages in my Rainbow Art Journal I knew that turquoise would put in a guest appearance.  This piece turned out to be reminiscent of my Resting Acrobat from a few months ago.  I think that previous piece is more successful overall but the face is better in this piece since I managed to keep it closer to my original sketch and not let the proportions wander.

11b Criss Cross

17 thoughts on “Rainbow Art Journal – Criss Cross

  1. Way to go Laura!! Keep following your color schemes and striped-legs thing!!!! Now you’ve got me thinking about striped legs: zebras, cats, some frogs…. Lol!! Keep up your good work!

  2. Everything about this just works! Great face, hair, posture. And I didn’t even think about the turquoise in there until I read your post. Excellent!

    • Thanks, Ellie. I want to practice different poses as I tend to automatically draw people looking very static at the moment. I actually made one of my kids sit in this pose and I quickly sketched it out.

Leave a Reply

