Blue Sisters

Last week’s Life Book lesson was taken by Tamara Laporte and involved drawing two figures.  I had not gotten around to working on Life Book lessons for a few weeks so I was keen to tackle this one over the weekend.  I find drawing more than one figure in a piece to be fairly challenging because of the need to make them cohere and keep proportions and angles of light consistent.  That was another good reason to complete the lesson.  I had to improvise a lot with the lesson because I don’t own the markers that Laporte demonstrated.  I, therefore, used ink and watercolour instead.  I tried to stay true to one of the focal points of the lesson, however, by working on creating a range of skin tones.  This is a skill I definitely still need to develop but I was nevertheless reasonably pleased with the flesh tones I created in this piece because at least I avoided making them too sallow or adding too much ochre.

9b Blue Sisters

4 thoughts on “Blue Sisters

Leave a Reply

