Rainbow Art Journal – The Girl with Words in her Hair

Thanks to a weekend that for once was not crammed with activities or commitments, I found time to work in my colour themed art journal.  I am still in the black/monochrome pages and this time I wanted to play around with using the black and white of printed text.  Readers who follow both my blogs might recognise the model for this page as being a drawing – titled Aubrey because of Aubrey Beardsley – from my series of 100 Faces.  I thought it would be interesting to see if I could recreate a face I had illustrated in ink and watercolour using acrylic paint and collage.  There is definitely more precision in the ink drawn version but I am not displeased with the way this mixed media piece turned out.  I do like the hair made of book pages so that was a worthwhile experiment.

5 Girl with Words in her Hair

21 thoughts on “Rainbow Art Journal – The Girl with Words in her Hair

  1. Everyone wearing a black turtleneck looks deep and brooding. I think those words are her beatnik poetry and she is about to go do a spoken word gig down at the Java Hut.

Leave a Reply

