Catch a Falling Star

The first full lesson of Life Book was taken by Tamara Laporte.  As with previous years, the first lesson focused on creating a whimsical figure using mixed media techniques.  The concept for this figure was that she was to be holding a star.  I messed around for a while with a star shape between the hands but I just couldn’t get it to work in harmony with the figure.  Perhaps because my figure is not whimsical enough, the star just did not look right.  I, therefore, resolved it by creating a golden glow between the hands.  I then added more gold around the piece with a bit of spatter and a halo around the head.  Although there is room for improvement, I think this is my best Life Book first week lesson so far.  That is a good way of measuring my progress with mixed media techniques.

1 Catch a Falling Star

6 thoughts on “Catch a Falling Star

  1. Really well done! The hands are excellent, as is the angle of the arms – nice detail to have them a bit asymmetrical. And the colors are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

