Nutcrackers

 

For a fun festive activity, I bought some blank wooden nutcrackers for my sons to paint.  I am actually not a huge fan of nutcrackers – I find them a little creepy – but my kids like them.  I think they appeal to them for largely nostalgic reasons: my mother-in-law has a large collection of nutcrackers so the kids associate them with fun-filled Christmases spent at their grandparents’ house.  Somehow, despite my mild aversion to nutcrackers, we now have a small collection of our own that appear every December.  Now we have four more!

Nutcracker 1

Nutcracker 2

Nutcracker 3

Nutcracker 5

The nutcrackers were created by, from left to right, my 11, 13, 7, and 9 year olds.

Nutcracker 4

 

12 thoughts on “Nutcrackers

  1. I’m not a big fan of nutcrackers, either, but your boys painted some really good ones! (The brush with red paint near that white hair looks like trouble, but apparently there were no mishaps.)

    • I didn’t either but one of my kids mentioned the idea around Halloween, when there were Halloween blank things available for customising, so that sewed the seed and I had a nose around online and found some. These were perfect as they had painted faces already and came as a set of four.

    • Thank you, Claudia. That is very sweet of you. I think maybe an enjoyment of creativity is in their DNA and they’ve grown up always seen me dabbling and trying new things – though I have never painted a nutcracker. I would love to see what you could create from a blank nutcracker.

Leave a Reply

