Frost

The only upside to my husband working out of town all week is that it freed up my evenings for some art time which meant that for the first time in what feels like ages I actually managed to complete two art lessons, one for each of the year long courses I am enrolled in.  The Let’s Face It lesson was taken by Annie Hamman and was about painting a figure with hands in addition to painting the face.  Hamman’s approach to painting is very, well, painterly.  It’s fascinating to watch the way she builds up and refines that layers of paint so that precise features gradually emerge.  I, however, am not remotely painterly in the way I handle paint.  Despite having had regular practice since I first started exploring mixed media, I still have super limited skills when it comes to handling, manipulating and applying acrylic paint.  Try as I might, therefore, I just could not refine the paint layers adequately enough so I diverged from the lesson (having already skipped a collage layer to save time) in order to use some other media to add the detail to the face and fingers.  Looking for the positives, I am fairly pleased with how the hands turned out in this painting.  I think the scale and angles read as correct.  I took the photo of the finished painting with my phone rather than my DSLR so in reality the flesh tones are a bit warmer and the disc behind the head is metallic blue.  My 11 year old commented that she looked like a female version of Jack Frost so I decided to go with that interpretation and title this piece Frost.

Week 45 - Frost - figurative painting

4 thoughts on “Frost

Leave a Reply

