Inktober 2016 – #32 The Munsters

You have not entered a time warp.  It is indeed November which means that it is no longer October or Inktober.  Regardless, I am extending Inktober by a few days.  I had a conflict between two different aspects of my control freakery –  on the one hand, Inktober should only last the 31 days of the month and then be done, dusted, completed; but, on the other hand, I had a partially complete sketchbook that I did not want to leave blank or repurpose for some other drawings because that would be too mentally messy for me.  The solution, therefore, was to extend the regular ink drawing practice of Inktober into November just long enough to fill the sketchbook with illustrations on the same theme – things spooky, horrible, monstrous, or gothic.  I may not draw daily since there is nothing compelling me to do so but if I get the chance to draw when supping my morning cuppa then that is what I shall do.

First up in this Inktober extension was a portrait of the Munster parents, Lily and Herman.  I loved ‘The Munsters’ when I was a kid.  Because I loved the classic Universal monster movies, I loved watching a show that depicted these classic monsters all living together as a family, along with freakishly normal sister Marilyn.  I have tried to convince my kids to watch episodes from the show but so far they are not biting.  I think my Herman could stand to look more goofy because he looks a bit sneering instead of lovably dorky.  For a ten minute drawing, however, it will do the trick.

32 Inktober 2016 - The Munsters

18 thoughts on “Inktober 2016 – #32 The Munsters

  1. Good on you, Laura, for making time fit your sketchbook – Inktober can be as long as it needs to be! I also loved The Munsters when I was a child. I haven’t seen any episodes in decades, but it might be a bit too dated for the Young Picts, but maybe they’ll relent. As to Lilly and Herman, I think you captured them wonderfully. Herman doesn’t seem to me to be smirking; he has that great Herman look.

  2. I love the Munsters and I knew them right away from your picture. By th way the show currently is airing on Cozi TV – one of those nostalgia channels. You could find info on their website, our cable package is so minimal that you may have a different channel number on yours, ours being 248.

Leave a Reply

