Inktober 2016 – #31 Redrum

I did it!  I completed the Inktober challenge!  Woohoo!  I actually feel accomplished.  I managed to produce a daily drawing despite being completely and utterly overscheduled.  And I loved it!  Ten to fifteen minutes of drawing every day with my morning mug of tea was actually very therapeutic, my little oasis of creative calm before facing the day.

For my final Inktober drawing, I turned to another movie for inspiration.  ‘The Shining’ is one of my favourite horror movies because it resists having its meaning pinned down and is unsettling precisely because not everything is explained and the denouement does not end with a neat little bow.  If you are a fan of the movie and have not checked out the documentary ‘Room 237’ then I highly recommend it.  Very nerdy but learned.  Anyway, I decided to draw Danny in the Redrum scene.  Purists will note that Danny actually has a motif on his shirt in this scene but I could not be bothered pulling up a photo reference or building in that level of detail.  I still think it is clear enough what character and scene I drew.  Followers of my blog might recall that this summer my kids and I reenacted some scenes from ‘The Shining’ when we spent the night in a hotel in Toledo that reminded me of the movie.

I managed to sign this final Inktober drawing twice.  Doh!  I signed and dated it once when I finished the black ink work and then once I had added the red text.  Things that happen when you rush!

31 Inktober 2016 - Danny - Shining - Redrum

25 thoughts on “Inktober 2016 – #31 Redrum

  1. Great to see The Shining represented in your final InkTober. (I read the book, but can’t bring myself to watch the movie). I’ve been away for a few weeks, so I am looking forward to catching up with the previous InkTober drawings

  2. Congratulations on finishing Inktober! And I love that you got to include a reference to The Shining… It’s one of my favourite movies too. If you really want to nerd it up (and you haven’t seen it already), check out this short documentary about the impossible layout of the Overlook Hotel!

    Now I’m off to enjoy some of your Inktober extra-credit assignments! 😀

  3. Pingback: Inktober 2016 – #36 The Birds | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

