Inktober 2016 – #26 Critter

Today’s Drawlloween prompt was “They came from outerspace!” and I was immediately kicking myself that I had not glanced ahead at the prompts before drawing my Xenomorph.  So I had to think of another horror beastie from outer space for today’s Inktober drawing.  I did think of ‘The Thing’, it being one of my favourite horror movies, favourite movies even, of all time but I decided it would be too challenging to draw, especially in a brief gobbet of time.  Just as the kettle boiled, I had my idea: a critter!  ‘Critters’ is a B movie horror from the 1980s that spawned a few sequels.  It’s not top notch quality by any standards but it’s schlocky fun and the naughty aliens are a visually strong and memorable element.  So a critter it was.  This drawing was going pretty well I thought and then, for the first ever time, my fountain pen burped and left a big fat ink blob on the paper.  Grrr.  At least it wasn’t right in the middle of the drawing.  Still annoying though.

26 Inktober 2016 - Critter

8 thoughts on “Inktober 2016 – #26 Critter

  1. At first it reminded me of “Where the Wild Things Are.” When “Critters” came out, I started calling my BFF Christi “Critter,” and her grandmother did not like that at all. She did not look like your drawing.

  2. The ink blob appears to have placed itself quite strategically and could perhaps be the alien critter’s alien child – pre-birth……… ?? I have to say I wouldn’t be feeling too happy seeing that wombling down the gangplank from its space ship at any time!!

  3. Oh, the blob is just fine… The Critter is so awesome, that I wouldn’t even have noticed it if you hadn’t said. I love everything about this: his teeth, eyes, scaly skin, fingers and toes. So good!

Leave a Reply

