Inktober 2016 – #11 Creature from the Black Lagoon

Today’s Inktober drawing was again inspired by a Drawlloween prompt.  “Slimy swamps, foggy bogs” instantly made me think of the Creature from the Black Lagoon.  You know how I love my classic Universal monsters!  I had to fit this drawing into the narrow window of time between getting home from work and heading out to collect my children from school so I was, I confess, a tad lazy and pretty much recycled my own artwork.  Back in February I painted a Creature from the Black Lagoon in my altered book of monsters so I basically just purloined that character design and recreated it in ink in my little Clairefontaine pad.  I did tweak it in one significant way: the first Creature was at the beach in an Edwardian swimming suit so I decided to put the new Creature into skimpy Speedos.  Perhaps one is the ancestor of the other.

11 Inktober 2016 - Creature from the Black Lagoon

13 thoughts on “Inktober 2016 – #11 Creature from the Black Lagoon

  1. I thought the Creature movie was the most frightening one ever, at one time in my life. I like the Speedo too and as a former competitive swimmer from the 60s and 70s I can say I have seen plenty of guys who looked good in one…

    • I think for me it is the idea of being so, erm, restricted in that area that makes me hate the look of them. I far prefer the tight swim shorts look on properly athletic swimmers. As if my opinion matters. Ha ha!

  2. Hahaha! I’m sure this guy will be headhunted by Olympic swim teams the world over! He’s great, and I’m hoping to find some time later on today to revisit more of your old Altered Book of Monsters posts, they look awesome!

    • I do completely love monsters. I’m glad Inktober and Halloween coincide as that gives me perfect material. Some days I seem to find more time and others I’m scrambling just for ten minutes. Today will be a definite rush and scramble but I’m determined to still get a drawing done.

  3. Pingback: Inktober 2016 – #12 Igor | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

