Back to Work!

In a post last week, I alluded to the fact that my spare time – always a rare commodity – has been even more reduced.  The reason for this is because I have returned to paid employment after a three year period as a full-time Stay Home Parent.

It all happened in a complete whirlwind.  I heard about a job opportunity on a Tuesday and immediately inquired, was informally interviewed on the Thursday, was offered the job on the Friday before even handing in my application form, and started work the following Monday.  Especially since I was not actively looking for a job, it has all been rather unexpected and exciting.

The reason I moved so fast to grab the opportunity is that it is a bit of a “unicorn job”.  I am working in a preschool which is perfect for me as it uses my skill set and experience (as I have worked in both High School and preschool education) and it means I work hours and days that don’t require me to find childcare for my own kids – a necessity since I largely solo parent.  Furthermore, my work is within walking distance of home.  The chances of finding a job that met all those criteria were slim to nil so I am definitely very lucky to have found and successfully grabbed the opportunity.

I like the ethos and atmosphere of the preschool, my colleagues all seem lovely, and working with small kids again is such fun.  As a qualified High School teacher, I was never sure of how I would adapt to working with such small kids but I found I really enjoyed it so I am really happy that I get to do that again.  I love that small kids are such little sponges, eager for experiences and learning so rapidly, I love how delightfully random they are, and I love that no two days with them are ever the same.

It is going to take some adjustments on the home front, the transition period having involved a little bit of chaos occurring at home, but so far the boys have adapted well to having me back in work after having me stay home for them since we emigrated.  I, of course, won’t be volunteering in or otherwise visiting their schools as often as I have been, which may cause some dismay and annoyance, and they will really have to make more effort with their chores but I think we can make it work.  The thing that has to give in all of this, of course, is my free time.  It was never abundant but I certainly had no cause for complaint.  Now, however, I will have meager rations of free time.  My hope is that I will get to a point where I can make a new schedule work that claws back some additional free time.  Until then, however, my postings are likely to become less frequent since I will have less to post about.

33 thoughts on “Back to Work!

  1. Congratulations on your new position. You’re obviously going to be making huge adjustments psychologically as well as schedule-wise. Best wishes as you embark on this new adventures. My impression is that the little kids are really lucky to have you.

    • Thanks, Ellie. So far I’m getting through everything I have to do each day but it’s leaving me very little free time so I need to keep working on the schedule so as to maintain some balance in my life. I will get there.

  2. Yay! Such great news, Laura! Congratulations! You and the boys can adjust in no time at all. I’ll miss you and your art and home adventure posts but will look forward to more adventures in school with those cute kids. You’ll find your comfortable schedule plus a few minutes of ‘me’ time for art in a few days. Looking forward to posts from art, home, the cats and the new adventure. Blessed!

  3. Oh wow, congratulations on your new job! I hope everything is settling down nicely at home, and that you still get some “me time” every once in a while! Those kids are lucky to have such a fun, creative person looking after them 😀

Leave a Reply

