Green about the Gills

I mentioned how rusty my art skills were when posting about Pink Girl.  Well, a little bit of drawing and watercolour was not enough to bring my skills back to their former standard.  It seems that two weeks of no drawing might necessitate at least two weeks of art practice to restore me to my former ability.  I write this by way of introduction to my first Let’s Face It artwork since our road trip because the outcome was hideous.

The lesson was taken by Lucy Brydon and incorporated gelli printing on tissue and painting on top of a tissue background.  The current theme being to paint faces and hands, it was necessary to build a hand into the composition.  I went wrong in so very many ways.  The skin tone is ghastly, almost cadaverous, because I did a terrible job with the underpainting and layering.  I tried warming it up by plonking more media on top of the acrylic but that just made her less corpse-like and more deathly ill.  I also totally screwed up the proportional relationship between the hand and face.  The detail of my gelli prints was entirely lost to the extent that I may as well have skipped that stage of creation, though I do quite like the texture of the background.  I like the red hair against the green (though the hair lacks interest and texture) but I think I did a better job with this colour palette way back in the second lesson.  In short, this painting is a hot mess.  Even my kids, normally my best and most committed cheerleaders, looked at this painting and screwed up their noses and struggled for something positive to say.  It was frustrating as I spent more time on this painting than I really had free and it all feels a bit like time wasted but I need to remember that even my most rubbish paintings, even my mistakes, are learning opportunities.

Week 32 - Gelli print tissue background

14 thoughts on “Green about the Gills

    • Thanks, Claudia. I think it’s just that so many elements went awry and I gave up trying to fix them as it was just wasting more time on top of the time wasted already. My husband’s assessment was that I just wasn’t feeling the lesson and that I possibly wasn’t in a painting mood. There is possibly some truth to that but it doesn’t explain the badly proportioned hand. I don’t mind though. I can always come back and have another try at the same technique some time.

  1. I think you did good here. The background is fabulous and I liked how you painted her face and hair. The facial shadows are okay in my opinion. Her hair which is straight with a bit of a wave is beautifully flowing down her shoulders. She seems to be waiting for someone for quite a while now and she becoming bored. For the hands, you know that I am not yet familiar with them so I can’t say anything in that corner.:-)

    • Thanks, Carrie. The texture in the background worked out but all the detail of the gelli prints was lost. Hands are a challenge for me. This one isn’t wretched as hands go since it at least looks like a hand but the proportion in relation to the face is very wrong and I’m annoyed I didn’t spot it earlier.

  2. Don’t you love the way your readers pull you back on track Laura 🙂 It’s such a great thing! I echo Claudia – by all means look at what is wrong, but also admire what is going well. While the background may not have worked out as you hoped it obviously has texture and colour and looks really great against that red hair. I’m working on a redhead now and man, she has gone wrong!! 🙂 [My daughter tells me that when I start a painting with a definite outcome in mind it never works out. I think she is right.] Plus we have days when we just aren’t feeling it!!

    • Thanks, Pauline. Yes, I think I just wasn’t feeling it, was in the wrong head space and also feeling rushed. I never seem to get my art act together when I am under serious pressure of time.

  3. I like her head. Even the colors are not bad as you describe them. The hand is ok too, but it is not hers 😊. It’s a bit too small for her. But hey, I cannot do hands at all, so be proud! Not every piece can make us happy and in order to learn you have ti produce lots of paintings that will not be masterpieces. Just do it! ❤

Leave a Reply

