I Am Enough

This week’s Colour Me Positive theme was “Enough”.  Immediately the word “enough” made me think of all of the things I am sick to the back teeth of whether personal or global in scope.  However, I like to keep my arting positive because it helps me decompress from life’s stresses rather than it being a visual catalogue of those stresses and frustrations.  I, therefore, decided to take the sentiment intended – that each of us is enough – and work with that in my art journal.

I did not have a precise idea in my head so I made a messy, painty background using those vivid Dylusions paints while my thoughts evolved.  What emerged was a combination of some of my default techniques and forms – people as matyroshka dolls, negative shapes, ink over acrylic – and a little character who represented me, not dissimilar from another recent “selfie” page.  I like that the background shows through the ink in a way that suggests a night sky.  That was a surprising act of serendipity.

Week 25 - I am Enough

12 thoughts on “I Am Enough

      • I hope so but I’m not holding my breath. We are all dual nationals with continued stake holdings in Britain so we now have to weather quite the period of uncertainty. It is certainly going to be interesting to see what happens regarding the union due to the very different voting results in Scotland and Northern Ireland. Mostly right now I’m despondent about the success of the politics of fear and intolerance on both sides of the Atlantic.

      • Life is nothing but uncertain. You’ve known that yourself and taken charge of it. You’ll end up great and the country will be all right, too. Remember that a whole of people make a living just on scaring others, too, and this is a bonanza.

      • The sun is shining, I hear kids playing outside, and birds, and I have pizza for dinner. I’m staying light on my feet and keeping friends and family in my focus. Everything else is nothing compared to these. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

