Grungy Selfie

This week’s Life Book lesson was taken by Pam Carriker and revolved around a selfie.  Now I do draw self-portraits from time to time because I am an available and compliant model but I am really not my favourite subject.  There is nothing interesting or inspirational about my face.  I have no compelling bone structure.  In fact, my face looks like it was hewn from a potato.  Which is OK because I have intelligence, wit and charisma on my side.  Ha ha!  For this exercise, I chose to avoid the complications of painting glasses so I used a selfie sans spectacles which confirmed to me that I actually look better when I wear glasses as it gives my face more proportion and interest.  So, yes, selfies are not my favourite subject but I appreciate they make for a good exercise.

The print of the selfie was transferred to the paper using a simple but effective technique which ensured the proportions of the face were accurate.  This proved to be interesting as my husband and three of my sons all remarked, when looking at the finished piece, that my cheeks are chubbier in real life.  The approach to the painting was grungy which I enjoyed immensely.  Lots of dribble and mess and scrunging the paint around.  I also liked that it was largely monochromatic with just a little pop of colour here and there.  I chose purple because it is my favourite colour.  I would say that the finished piece resembles me but is not a strong likeness.  In that regard, it makes me think of those drawings of suspects created from eye witness statements: it is close enough to identify it as me but things are awry enough for it to be not quite right.

Week 26 - Grungy Selfie

17 thoughts on “Grungy Selfie

  1. While I don’t think that your face lacks in “interestingness”, you have a point that glasses add a lot to one’s face. One of the reasons I wear glasses rather than contacts 😉 Your grungy selfie is great – I find the hat particularly intriguing, it looks Victorian to me, which is curiously at odds with the eyewitness feel of your portrait.

    • The Victorian thing is interesting. I wonder if it’s the circle behind the face like a vignette on a carte de visite. I definitely think glasses give my face more interest but it’s probably also that I prefer my face with glasses because I’ve worn glasses since childhood, permanently since my late teens, so I’m not so used to seeing my face without glasses.

      • That’s the perk of art – you produce a vignette, I see a Victorian hat…

        I also sometimes find myself alarmed when I see myself without my glasses. It doesn’t happen often because I can’t actually *see* much without the glasses.

  2. Laura, I really like the way in which you’ve used the gray shades + black and purple to create this evocative portrait. The purple hat helps to create a icon-like feeling–a great counterpoint to the “grunge.”

  3. Ha! I’ll do mine without the glasses too, I think. I also do not like how I look without them, but it would be pain to paint them 😀 I like how yours turned out you look a bit like a saint, definitely due to that halo around 🙂

    • Ha ha! Saint Laura. I wonder what I could be the patron saint of.

      Normally I draw the glasses in a self-portrait but I thought it might be too challenging for the grungy approach to this piece.

  4. You may not be your favourite subject, but this has turned out really well! I love the grungy details, and the expression has real intensity. I also had to smile when I saw the comment about you wanting to shave all your hair off… I had the same idea about my supremely uncooperative mop this week too!

Leave a Reply

