Colourful and Expressive Portrait

Last week’s Life Book lesson was taken by Pauline Agnew.  This was actually the second lesson with Agnew as the tutor.  The first lesson was about creating intuitive, colourful flowers and my effort was so wretched that I opted to not share it on the blog – and you know, therefore, that it must have been lamentable since I share all of my art work from courses, good, bad, and ugly.  This lesson was my opportunity to redeem myself and actually create something decent in response to one of Agnew’s lessons.

The objective of the lesson was to create a bold, colourful, randomly abstract background and then draw over the top of it, modelling the drawing on something by one of the Old Masters.  I actually used a fin de siecle drawing by Félix Bracquemond.  The simplicity of the approach really appealed to me.  I used too dark a colour in the centre of my paper which means that some of my drawing really gets lost through lack of contrast but otherwise I am pretty please with how this piece turned out.  This is a technique – quick and easy – that I can envisage using again with my own drawings.

Week 20 - Colourful Expressive Portrait

14 thoughts on “Colourful and Expressive Portrait

    • Thank you very much, Hannah. I have a sidekick journal I smoosh leftover paint into so I think this is a technique I will use time and again in that journal. It was quick, simple, and effective.

Leave a Reply

