Ink Profile

This week’s Let’s Face It lesson moved from 3/4 portraits to profile portraits.  Ack!  My nemesis.   I had mixed feelings about moving onto this section of the course: trepidation because I find drawing profiles so challenging and excitement because the lessons might actually help me overcome my difficulties with profiles.  The first lesson was a gentle introduction with a suggestion of a couple of techniques to assist in drawing accurate profile shapes.  For reasons too dull to explain, I did not use either technique and instead just freehand drew the profile.  What’s more, to make it extra challenging, I decided to draw in India ink.  What was I thinking?  The concentrated black ink on the left covers up a multitude of attempts at getting the profile right.  I also regret not using better quality paper as the way the diluted ink saturated into the paper has left it all looking blotchy and patchy.  I also let the whole drawing become way to dark.  Oh dear.  Hopefully the only way is up with profiles.

Week 19 Profile in Ink

19 thoughts on “Ink Profile

  1. I like her the way she is! I love the tones and shades of her face. I love that you do not follow the lessons step by step. I also love that you do your own way of drawing and coloring and that is what makes each piece so uniquely you.

    • Thank you. I do think using substandard watercolour paper led to the face shadows becoming too murky and blotchy but I can’t blame it all on the tools. However, I’m coming around to the really black areas. As you say, it adds drama.

  2. See..you do it and it looks great….I do one and it looks like a prize fighter that lost!..you’re far the better artist than me! XO

  3. I love the strong lines of the profile against the black background! It makes the portrait mysterious and compelling.

    Sometimes ‘mistakes’ lead to better outcomes… I experienced that yesterday with some of my art lol. I feel that sometimes we have less control over the creative process than we’d like but that’s what makes art fun and challenging.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, Roselyn. Yes, the learning curve, the challenges, the happy accidents, and the occasional successful piece is what makes creative pursuits so enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

