Fleshing out the Bones

Last week’s Life Book lesson was taken by Effy Wild.  Her lesson had a more art therapy approach to it than most Life Book lessons but, as always, it was easy to focus simply on the creative techniques and adapt it to be less personal and emotional.  I also had to be pragmatic about time so whereas the lesson demonstrated two layers, a flap that moved across a lower layer, I conflated the two layers into one.  I like putting my own spin on lessons so I experienced no dilemma in adapting the lesson to such a great extent.  The idea had been to have a lower layer that included a lot of handwriting and a concept represented visually by a skeleton and the flap that covered this would be a painting of a fully human figure, the flesh over the bones.  In conflating the two layers, my figure became a mixture of human and skeleton.  I, therefore, coincidentally worked on two skull faces in one week.

I decided to try out a red and turquoise colour scheme with a bit of grungy magenta over the black background and some metallic blue in the circle.  I rather like the combination so can see me deploying that palette again in future.

Week 18 - Bones of Your Story - Skeleton Woman

4 thoughts on “Fleshing out the Bones

  1. Pingback: Inktober 2016 – #30 Skeleton Girl | A Pict in PA

  2. Pingback: 100 Faces – #59 Turquoise | Pict Ink

Leave a Reply

