Wings of a Phoenix

Last week’s Colour Me Positive theme was Expanding and the associated quotation, provided as an additional prompt, was “Until you spread your wings, you’ll never know how far you can fly”.  Rather than strictly focus on the theme, therefore, my imagination ran with the visual image of wings.  The phoenix has recurred a few times in my art these past couple of years and that was the idea that developed on my art journal page in response to this prompt too.  As I created the page while meeting up with my local art journaling group, I kept things pretty simple, using portable supplies.  The fiery colour is pooled and spattered ink and I used black micron pens for drawing the winged figure.  I quite like how this turned out and might use it as a preparatory sketch for a more developed piece at some point.

12 - Expand your Wings - Phoenix - Art Journal Page

10 thoughts on “Wings of a Phoenix

  1. Laura, I love this image of the phoenix as woman rising–and am intrigued with the way in which the colorful ink suggests what growth might come in future flight.

Leave a Reply

