Trust Your (Zombie Pig) Gut

This week’s Colour Me Positive theme was Intuition.  Listening to your thoughts and feelings, heeding that little voice in the back of your mind, that insistent bubble in the gut, and following your instincts is something I am pretty big on.  Translating that visually onto a page, however, was going to be really tough.  I thought about focusing in on the word “trust” but instead it was the word “gut” that kept pinging back into my mind.  So I went with my gut and decided to make my art journal page revolve around guts.

I treated myself to a bunch of Dylusions paints and was eager to get stuck into playing with those. I thought their bold, vivid colours would lend themselves to my zombie illustrations.  Normally I would default to my favourite zombie bunnies but I decided to totally ignore my gut instinct, rebel against it, and depict a zombie pig instead.  I used embroidery floss to create the string of guts.  Pleating that was a bit of a pain.  I had flashbacks to trying to learn macrame when I was 8.  I was initially planning to glue the guts down but decided to leave them floppy and loose and flexible.  More gut-like.  As per usual, my stencilling bites but in zombie art work that doesn’t really matter now, does it?  I really like how thick these paints are and how richly vibrant the colours are.  I think I am going to have a lot of fun experimenting with them.

11 - Trust Your Gut - Zombie Pig - Art Journal Page - 1

11 - Trust Your Gut - Zombie Pig - Art Journal Page - 2

 

 

10 thoughts on “Trust Your (Zombie Pig) Gut

  1. Love this page! Love the vibrant colors! Your zombie pig is such an awesome site to look today. I could give him a big warm hug. Your string for his guts reminds me of friendship bracelets I used to make and exchange with my grade school friends.

    • Thanks, Carrie Lynn. I am glad he made you smile. Plaiting the thread was very much like making a friendship bracelet, something I never did because I found it so tedious. Apparently this was something I had forgotten when I decided to make the guts this way.

Leave a Reply

