Mandala over Collage

My art time has been limited recently between it being too cold in the house to hold a pencil or paint brush and kids getting sick one after the other.  I admit, therefore, that, when I saw that last week’s Life Book lesson was on the subject of manadalas, I almost decided to skip it entirely.  Mandalas are just not “me”.  Just as I am not zen enough to translate my doodles into zentangles, nor am I precise or measured enough to produce mandalas.  I actually much prefer asymmetry, wonkiness and imprecision in my art.  I am also a little queasy about the cultural appropriation inherent in producing something related to a style so rooted in a particular culture and one to which I do not remotely belong.  However, you know all too well that I am a control freak and anal retentive.  It was making me feel a little twitchy to not attempt a lesson.  After all, the entire point of me participating in Life Book is that it forces me to leave my comfort zone and try new things and – in doing so – learn what things work for me and perhaps assimilate them into my regular practice and find out what things don’t work for me and henceforth avoid them like the plague.  Finally, after a week of bone-numbing cold and having kids home sick – one after the other, of course – I really needed to decompress with a good chunk of art time.

The lesson was taken by Faith Evans-Sills and involved collage and layering and, obviously, adding a mandala as a focal point.  As you can see, there is no accurate measuring, no mathematical precision in my mandala but it is as good as I can get.  I used colours I associate with Spring because man oh man do I need Spring to arrive.

Week 8 - Mandala over Collage 1

Week 8 - Mandala over Collage 2

 

20 thoughts on “Mandala over Collage

    • Thanks. Yes, drips, spatter, and dots had to be done. The tutorial involved using stencils and such like to add layers but making deliberate mess with paint felt much more “me” than making a non-deliberate mess with stencils.

  1. I love mandalas and like this one you have made – I too think it has signs of Laura-ness all through it 🙂 I hope your home is warm again and everyone is starting to feel better. Spring can’t be too far away – I’m hanging out for winter 🙂

  2. I love mandalas and I love your mandala and the colors that went with it. It is so hot and humid here now and your mandala gave me the feeling of freshness, cool winds and a few drops of rain.

  3. Pingback: Radiating Light | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

