Perfectly Imperfect

This week’s Let’s Face It lesson was taken by Petra Stein and involved going with the flow, not getting blocked by striving or perfection, responding intuitively to what happens on the paper … all the things I find a tad challenging.  Challenge is good though.  Leaving my comfort zone and taking different approaches is precisely why I am taking online art classes.

Partly because I like to put my own spin on things and partly because I was improvising with different materials, I strayed a little from the directions of the tutorial.  I also, once again, tried to marry my more illustrative style with the approach of the tutor.  My oldest son observes that I am drawing all necks overly long at the moment.  I am going to claim it as a stylistic trait rather than a composition issue.

Week 4 - Perfectly Imperfect

 

11 thoughts on “Perfectly Imperfect

  1. It’s almost as if with each piece we are seeing something that becomes more and more uniquely ‘you’. I like the slightly askew look myself and as you know think the elongated neck very stylish and Pre-Raphaelite 🙂

    • I love the PRB so that may well be where the long neck and flowing hair inspiration comes from. I’m so heartened that you are seeing something of me emerging from all my experiments and learning. This year I really want to get my paint and mixed media art more stylistically in synch with my illustrative style of ink drawing.

Leave a Reply

