Dream Big

This week’s Colour Me Positive prompt was “Dream Big”.  The accompanying quotation was “If your dreams don’t scare you they’re not scary enough!”  I am a realist with pessimistic tendencies so I don’t tend to dream big.  When I was growing up, I had all sorts of ambitions and aspirations and I worked my butt off to achieve them.  Now my dreams, hopes and aspirations are all about my kids, none just for me, and my personal goals are all pretty small scale and easily attainable.  I assume that is normal for grown ups.  In short, it has been a long time since I had any big dreams.

I used ink and Inktense blocks to create a little illustration of the phrase “Dream Big”.  I thought the cloud-like rainbow hair accentuated the idea of dreams.  I like white space in my art work and I have also been exploring negative space lately, using the latter in this page to create the text.

5 - Dream Big - Art Journal Page

13 thoughts on “Dream Big

  1. Laura,

    Sometimes, we harbor dreams deep within that are just waiting for the right conditions to emerge. I’m guessing you have some pretty awesome dreams in that beautiful cloud that are just waiting for the moment to arrive…

    • Thanks, Hannah. I have goals and things I want to achieve and I certainly have aspirations for my kids (for them to be happy, healthy, fulfilled, kind, loved) but I’m not sure at what point any of those things tip over into being dreams. When I was wee, I had dreams because they were distant and involved lots of steps and time and effort to achieve them. Maybe my dreams have just become less complex and are what I would call goals. It’s not something I’ve given much thought to in recent years. That’s what makes the art journal prompt quite interesting: it’s stimulated my thought processes.

  2. She is beautiful, Laura. I’m nudging you right now with a reminding that you have been dreaming of opening an etsy shop to sell your wonderful artworks. Maybe this might be the right time to start. Who knows. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Ha ha! Cyber nudge. I like that. I’ve had second thoughts about trying to sell online, to be honest. I’m questioning whether I have enough talent (as opposed to some ability + hard work) and enough that makes my work stand out in the crowd. I have to be realistic given the investment required.

  3. I adore this post so much that I wish I had written it… This, precisely:

    “I am a realist with pessimistic tendencies so I don’t tend to dream big. When I was growing up, I had all sorts of ambitions and aspirations and I worked my butt off to achieve them.”

  4. Laura, your illustration is lovely and exactly what I need to see this morning. I love your clean lines and bright colors. Now that I am supposed to be having “empty nest” I have time to explore my dreams. I don’t believe we ever grow to old to dream big! Thanks for sharing! This is a gem!

  5. This has struck such a chord with me too Laura. I totally understand what you mean, for so long my dreams for the future have been wrapped up with what I hope for my son. Maybe our time to dream again does indeed come when they’re old enough to follow their own dreams.

    • Thanks, Tori. I had never really thought about it before I created this page so I need to contemplate it some more. However, I think maybe it’s normal that we invest all our hopes and dreams into our kids until the fly the nest and then hopefully we can start constructing dreams of our own again. Or maybe it is easier to dream big when you are little and there’s so much life in front of you. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

