The Force Awakens (No Spoilers)

Fear ye not, you shall find no spoilers here.  Furthermore, this is not a movie review blog.  You are safe.  Read on if you are so inclined.

So apparently along with much of the population, we Picts went to see ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ this weekend.  My husband – the biggest Star Wars nerd in the family by far – had been tempted to do the seven movie marathon at our local cinema but then saw sense so we were all able to go and see if for the first time together.  Tickets were pre-ordered, SW themed clothing was donned (except by me) and off we trotted to the cinema.

DSC_0007

We arrived an hour early but even then we had to join a lengthy queue to get into our screen.  We played Star Wars Top Trumps in the line in order to stave off any boredom and moaning.  The atmosphere was lovely.  Everyone was excited and was geeking out.  A trio of young men in front of us were doing wookiee impressions.  I loved that we were sharing this experience with our kids.  My husband and I saw the original triology in the cinema when we were wee (I did not see the A New Hope on its original release, of course, since I was actually too wee) and they were a set of movies that stuck with us our entire lives.  I loved the movies but am mostly a SW nerd by affiliation.  My husband is a SW nut.  Our kids were weaned onto SW at an early age.  I have video of my second son, as a baby, being able to name SW characters.  Of course, what we enthused about were the original triology.  The prequels were astoundingly dismal.  My husband and I still saw that trilogy in the cinema but we left disappointed every time.

I, therefore, went into the cinema feeling cynical about this new sequel but hopeful nevertheless; I left the cinema feeling relieved and entertained.  It was a rollocking fun movie with soundly defined characters, solid performances, great set pieces, and enough references, mirroring and echoes of the original movies to make it part of a cohesive sequel and to satiate the nerdom of we SW fans.  There was also an avoidance of exposition (something which made the prequels so snoresome) which in turn creates intrigue for the forthcoming movies.  All six of us found lots to dissect, discuss and analyse once we were back in our car (having taken a vow of silence in the cinema lest we accidentally spoil it for someone overhearing us).  Best of all, my concerns that my husband might need therapy if the new movie turned out to be rubbish were made irrelevant.  All six Pict movie nerds were happy.

 

17 thoughts on “The Force Awakens (No Spoilers)

  1. I’m so glad you shared this, My husband and I are planning on going to see it between xmas and New Year, and I have been rather cynical and uncertain about this new Star Wars films… I found the prequels so disappointing and also, the Disney logo made me squirm… but I know you are a lady with very good taste and I can trust your opinion blindfolded, so I feel reassured now 😀

    • I loathe the prequels so I was very cynical. I was also worried that Disney would make it all about merchandising opportunities and give us a load of Jar Jar types. My hope came from Abrams appointment as director as his Star Trek reboot is fresh but respectful. That’s pretty much my take on this Star Wars movie: it’s respectful, almost reverential, of the old movies we love but with some extra whizz bang. It’s also not a CGI showcase. Everything the prequels were (ponderous, exposition heavy and with flat characters whose motivations lack grounding) is absent in this movie I’m very happy to report.

    • Me too. The prequels felt like a betrayal or at least an undermining of my childhood. This movie felt like we were able to let our children experience what it was like to actually see a quality SW movie on the big screen.

  2. I’m really pleased that you all enjoyed the film Laura 🙂
    I’m not particularly a film watcher, but got dragged along by my four boys to go and see it on Thursday (the first time in over 50 years that I’ve been to a premier night showing! Lol!), and I thoroughly enjoyed it 🙂 You summed up the film perfectly Laura 🙂
    I wouldn’t say the same about two other films I’ve been taken to see recently, Jurassic World & Mission Impossible – both of which I thought were dire 😦

    • I’m hoping to breed four boys who drag me to the cinema. I’m a bit of a film nerd (not a buff) so I’m trying to generate a love of film in my kids. My ten year old definitely has the bug.

      I haven’t seen Mission Impossible. I’m not a big fan of Cruise. I will probably see it on the small screen some time. I enjoyed Jurassic World but not for the same reasons I enjoyed Jurassic Park. I found I viewed JW almost as if it was a homage to or pastiche of the earlier JP films. It felt like they had a check list of nods and references they wanted to make. I was entertained by it but certainly not wowed.

      • You are definitely much more of a film nerd than me, I generally wouldn’t pay to see any but a very select few films. I much prefer TV drama, especially some of the Scandinavian drama we’ve been getting recently, such as ‘The Bridge’ and ‘The Killing’ and ‘Borgen’.
        I reckon you won’t have too many problems convincing your other three kids to also become film nerds, most kids love the whole cinema experience! 🙂

      • I used to go to the cinema all the time when I was young and it was affordable. Now we limit ourselves to a few cinema trips every year and always kid movies (my kids are Marvel and DC obsessed so that’s increased our cinema going). We mostly wait for the small screen and with no one to babysit we see the grown up stuff there.

        I don’t watch a lot of TV but I watch dramas when I do. We loved those Scandinavian dramas too. I’ve only seen the first season of The Bridge though. It’s never appeared on TV here that I’ve seen, maybe because they created a remake here. Saga is one of my favourite characters in any drama show so I must somehow track that second season down.

      • That certainly is a drawback to going to the cinema these days, especially with a larger family, it costs a fortune 😦 My wife and I would rather go to the Kino in Glenrothes if we go at all (my wife enjoys films), but the kids much prefer the Odeon in Dunfermline. Personally I can’t tell much difference, the Odeon has increased the number of screens, but each auditorium is much smaller. But at the Odeon, you get well and truly ripped off for the snacks and drinks!
        LOL!!! I’m sounding like a right old grumpy man!!! 🙂
        Your kids will be in their element at the moment then Laura, it seems like every other film that comes out is either DC or Marvel!!
        I couldn’t agree with you more Laura, Saga is a brilliant character in ‘The Bridge’ 🙂
        ‘The Bridge’ now has three series, I think they are available on Netflix, or you could keep an eye on BBC Iplayer, they fairly often repeat them 🙂

      • Interesting. Last time I checked, they weren’t on Netflix but U.S. Netflix is a bit different. I will check again.

        We love the Kino in Glenrothes! When we’ve taken our boys and my nephews, we try to arrive early enough to get sofas. It’s so comfy. The only drawback is that I’m sometimes so comfy that I nod off. Even in the normal seats it’s got better leg room than most multiplexes. It’s the cinema I frequented as a child too (remember Saturday morning cinema club?) so it’s got the nostalgia factor.

        When we lived in Lochgilphead, we saw films on the Screen Machine. Have you heard of that? It’s a massive truck that rolls into town, the sides pop out and inside there is a screen and stacked seating. For comfort, it couldn’t be beat.

      • You are probably right about the US version for Netflix, no offence to your fellow Americans, but I have noticed that American TV constantly tries to dumb down most TV series 😦
        I hadn’t realised that the Kino used to be in Glenrothes, of course it only re opened three or four years ago. I went to a Saturday morning cinema club too, but in Penzance, and that was back in the early 1970’s, definitely no couches (to fall asleep on! LOL!!) back then!!!
        I’ve not heard of the Screen Machine – it sounds like a brilliant idea, because there are many areas without cinemas these days, and still lots of people with no cars!

      • Yes, the Kino was around for decades and then closed for decades. My family were so happy when it was resurrected.

        Our nearest cinema was in Oban, so an hour further north, but it was closed for most of the time we lived in Argyll. It too was resurrected as a community project (and is appropriately the Phoenix cinema). We had to trek to the fringes of Glasgow for a proper cinema so that was rare. The Screen Machine, therefore, was a great resource.

        I checked and Netflix doesn’t have the Scandinavian Bridge. I will need to remember and check the library next time I’m in.

      • The Screen Machine certainly was a great idea Laura, I thought St Just in Cornwall was out in the sticks, but it sounds like where you used to live, was even more out in the wilderness 🙂
        Hopefully your library will have the Scandinavian Bridge!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

