Girl with Golden Hair

There were two bonus lessons this week for Life Book.  The first was a sort of pep talk by Jeanne Oliver.  My take away from her talk was that it made me think about setting my goals for next year, about decompressing in order to make more space for myself, about prioritising creativity within my free time, and it was also a reminder that acts of self care ultimately help me continue investing in my husband and kids – one cannot pour from an empty cup after all – so I need to quit feeling guilty for choosing art over dusting.

The second bonus lesson was taken by Tamara Laporte and was about using a more painterly approach.  This is something I struggle with.  Frankly, learning to paint (as opposed to draw) has been a steep learning curve for me.  While I have come on in leaps and bounds from where I started – and I no longer state that I CAN’T paint – I still tend towards a more illustrative style of art.  That is my default, my comfort zone, and is what I have the most successful outcomes with.  However, I am always up for a challenge and it is by pushing myself out of my comfort zone that I grow the most.  I decided to give myself an additional challenge of painting a face with a darker skin tone than I usually paint.

I have had this idea for a while for hair to act as a sort of halo.  I have been using metallic discs and elements in quite a few of my paintings and a a few people have commented that these paintings are reminiscent of icons.  Since this Life Book lesson was pretty open to possibilities, it seemed like a good time to try out my idea.  I must admit that I found it tricky to work with the darker skin tones, specifically finding a midtone to balance the highlights and shadows.  Using the more painterly approach, I was blending the paint on the paper and that meant I had to work quickly.  That was good for getting me out of my head a bit, getting me to work a bit more instinctively than I normally would, but it was a contributing factor in my struggle to get the skin tones right.  I still like the idea of this piece but I need to try it again.

Week 51 - Painterly - Girl with Golden Hair 1

Week 51 - Painterly - Girl with Golden Hair 2

7 thoughts on “Girl with Golden Hair

  1. One cannot pour from an empty cup… what a wonderful metaphor for the need for self-care. So true, and easily forgotten in my experience. Choosing art over dusting… I’ve never had a problem making that choice!– which probably explains the lack of spic and his pal span in what passes for this home studio… : (

    I think your painting is a definite success, Laura. Resist the impulse to be too self-critical, say I! The light reflections on the cheeks, nose, and chin are nicely done– and you’re right: that’s not so easy on dark skin.

    I like the hair-halo idea a lot. That could make for a very interesting series. And I like that spot of brightness on the righthand side; a focal point with a hint of mystery. As you say, one can only learn by leaving ye olde comfort zone, and that takes courage, no matter how far outside you step– so give yourself credit. Truth: I always enjoy seeing your work!! : )

    • Thank you very much for your detailed and encouraging feedback, Mark. I truly appreciate it. Maybe I will work on a halo series. I seem to benefit from working in a series so I’m always collecting ideas for themes.

  2. This painting just took my breath away, Laura! The dark colored skin with the gold hair really complimented each other and added to that another bright color such as red background to complete the circle to trust colors. I love it!

Leave a Reply

