Phoenix Woman

This week’s Life Book lesson was taken by Tamara Laporte.  I knew it would be very detailed and would spark my creativity and imagination and get me rushing to put paint on paper right away and I was not wrong.  The object of the lesson was two-fold: to work with a full profile; and to balance out working on two sides of a painting in two different ways, intentionally in one area and intuitively in another, and make the two sides cohere.  Since I find working intuitively challenging and I also sometimes struggle to make backgrounds complement the focal image, I thoroughly enjoyed this lesson.

Laporte’s exemplar in the video tutorials was of a female figure with a swan on her head and some other whimsical, fantastical elements.  We were encouraged, however, to find and utilise imagery that chimed with us.  I already had an idea that I wanted to use red and other warm colours in a painting because I have not been using those colours much lately so perhaps that is where the idea of a phoenix came from.  Perhaps it is also because it is my birthday today and I am now 40 and waiting for the whole “life begins” thing to kick in, the next chapter in my life.  My version is a bit less whimsical than Laporte’s and I didn’t use doodles or writing or symbols but I did use spatter and dribble and dots which make me happy.  I am really pleased with how this painting turned out especially when I compare it to how my adventures in mixed media painting started this year.

Week 45 - Phoenix Woman 1

Week 45 - Phoenix Woman 2

18 thoughts on “Phoenix Woman

    • Thanks. The “turning 40” aspect was not a conscious decision – my choice was driven by wanting to work in warm colours for a change – but I certainly think it fits and I will now always remember this painting as the one I painted the week I turned 40.

      I’m totally cool with turning 40. I’m very much of the “age is just a number” mentality. I’m excited to see what this new decade of life has in store for me.

  1. This is gorgeous Laura. I love the rich, indulgent colours and your subject’s confident grace. A hearty congratulations on your birthday milestone too – relax, celebrate and enjoy your weekend! X

    • Thank you very much. I’m glad you like the painting. I’ve had a lovely birthday filled with laziness, art, books and good food. I’m just getting the kids settled down after our evening out and then I’m hoping I might finish my birthday celebrations with a cheeky wee glass of wine.

  2. Happy 40th Birthday! and hooray for the whole life begins thingy. Turning 40 is fabulous and will open new doors for you. Just wait and see. 😉 😉 😉

    This painting was just so right for you now. The warm colors of red, violet and orange of your phoenix were fantastic. The woman gives off both a strong willed personality as well as someone with a very kind heart, delicate and softness in her eyes. The whole painting is beautiful and intense.

  3. Pingback: Altered Book of Monsters – #23 – Sheep Woman | Pict Ink

  4. Pingback: Halcyone – Mixed Media Mythology | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

