Autumn Dryad

This week’s Life Book lesson was a bonus lesson taken by Jenny Wentworth.  The idea was to paint a tree intuitively using layers of watercolour paint, the tree growing from a seed that represented hopes and aspirations, and Wentworth added a female face into her tree trunk so that it became a personification.

I experienced a real creative block with the lesson.  I just could not find a way to get started.  I even considered skipping the lesson entirely but I am too anal retentive and it didn’t sit right with me to not complete every single lesson in the course.  I told myself I would postpone it until I came up with an idea that worked for me.  Then my kids – so often a source of inspiration to me – came to my rescue.  I asked about their day at school and they asked me what art I had been doing.  I explained that I was creatively stuck.  They wanted to know what the lesson was about and I explained what Wentworth’s painting looked like as a potential outcome.  “So like a lady Groot?” my 8 year old asked.  Ping.  Light bulb.  That was my inspiration: I could anthropomorphise a tree!

I used watercolour and created the small branches and twigs by blowing the paint with a straw.  I may not have painted intuitively or used lots of layers of watercolour but that was my nod to being less controlling with the outcome.  I did not want to lose the shapes the branches had created plus the leaves are rapidly falling off the trees so I decided to make her an Autumn tree.  My 10 year old said she looks like a Dryad.  Whether Marvel comics or Greek mythology, the lesson got done and it only took me the time in which dinner was cooking.

Week 44 - Autumn Dryad

7 thoughts on “Autumn Dryad

  1. Ah a lady Groot! She is more lovely than a lady Groot in my opinion. She is graceful. I love that you used the straw blowing technique for her twigs, that technique helped make her so delicate looking. The autumn colors were just perfect for this Groot like lady.

  2. Pingback: My Top Ten Search Terms | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

