Soaring through the Night Sky

I should not be surprised that I keep falling behind with Life Book lessons given it is the summer break and I have four kids at home to entertain and chores galore – because kids at home create more mess.  Furthermore, my art time is being invested in working on my History of Art project with the kids.  Still, you know me: Control Freak.  I cannot stand not being on schedule for very long so I had to find time to catch up.

The first lesson I caught up on was one taken by Tamara Laporte.  The thrust of the lesson was about celebrating wisdom and rising above limiting beliefs and negative thoughts.  This was to be visually represented by a soaring figure and various mixed media techniques were demonstrated in the tutorial.  It took me days of stop-start viewing to watch the video tutorial and at one point my 9 year old glanced at the laptop and commented that the exemplar made him think of Nyx.  That was the seed that then germinated in my mind’s eye throughout the rest of the tutorial and by the time I was ready to start painting I decided I was going to paint Nyx, the Greek goddess of the Night.

I used Neocolor II crayons, acrylic paint and Inktense pencils to create my response to this lesson.  I am particularly pleased with how the colours in the background bled in to one another and the spattering with the metallic blue and silver paints.

Week 32 - Soaring Figure

6 thoughts on “Soaring through the Night Sky

  1. I can’t help but think there has been a huge expansion of your artistic talent in your work over these last months – am I right? What do you think? I love the depth of colour you have achieved here! I am so looking forward to getting back into LB and catching up on the 25 lessons I have yet to do 🙂

    • Thank you very much for your observation and encouragement. It’s so hard for me to tell if I’m improving because I’m too close to it to be properly, objectively analytical. I feel like I am definitely improving in terms of my confidence with paint. I always used to say – with regard to oil and acrylic – that I could not paint at all. I feel my stance has now shifted to “I can paint a wee bit”. Maybe I will shift further by the end of this year’s Life Book course.

      I look forward to seeing what you do with all your catch up lessons.

  2. She looks ethereal. I love the shades of blue and how you have blended them so well. And yes, the splatters. It won’t be you if the splatters were missing.

    Also, I do agree with Pauline. Your painting are more fluid now and your colors are so much blended. I cannot see where one color starts and ends. Your perseverance with practicing with acrylic paints is paying off. High five!

Leave a Reply

