Paint Brush Typography

Next up for my Life Book catch-up session was a bonus lesson by Joanne Sharpe.  Sharpe had taken one of the first ever Life Book lessons I did and I had enjoyed it immensely, especially the liberating message that my own handwriting was good enough for my art.  Since I still have not gotten around to developing my skills with typography, it was good to have that reinforced.  The focus of the lesson was on using either a paint brush or water brush with watercolour as a tool for writing and to write empowering or inspirational words and phrases on a full sized piece of paper and on smaller cards.

I did both projects and it was pleasingly quick to create them.  My Dad is a very skilled and experienced painter of vehicles including an ability to do sign-writing by hand.  Apparently I have not inherited his ability to write in straight lines or to achieve consistency because my text is very skew-wiff on the page.  Never mind.  I enjoyed the lesson and certainly feel more confident with writing with a paint brush than I did before.  I also think I have potential to develop my skills to achieve greater precision.

Week 33 - Paint Brush Writing

Week 33 - Word Cards

7 thoughts on “Paint Brush Typography

    • Thanks. The quotation is just one I scribbled down in a notebook some time ago. I’m not sure where I saw it but I had to google to find the attribution. As you can see, my lettering needs work too but I like the idea of just embracing my own handwriting as my “go to” typography.

Leave a Reply

