Frankenstein’s Bunny

The great thing about art journaling is that it allows me to experiment with new things on a small, manageable scale.  I can mess around with new media, try a new approach, play with a new style and in doing so discover what things I enjoy, what things I am good at, what things are really not me and what things might have some potential for me.  The thing I appreciate about prompts, therefore, is that they give me the shove I need to do something way out of my comfort zone or out of my field of knowledge and experience.

This week’s prompts for the Documented Life Project were just such a shove.  The phrase was “All that I’m after is life full of laughter” and the art challenge was stitching.  Stitching.  Ugh.  As I have shared before, I am not a textile artist.  I can neither knit, sew or crochet.  I have no aptitude for it and I consequently don’t enjoy it.  I actually avoid sewing as much as possible.  I replace buttons, take up hems, do minor clothing repairs but the whole time I am doing so I am aggravated which is not the mood I want to be in when I am doing something creative.

I could have avoided using textiles at all in my response to the DLP prompt but I decided to see what happened when I got out of my comfort zone this particular time because in the small scale of an art journal my potential frustration levels could be minimised.  I could tell myself, “This will all be over soon”.  I knew I did not want to make sewing a big deal on my page, however, and to just use it as an element.  I mulled over the phrase prompt for a while but nothing came to me.  I chose to just ponder the stitching element and what came to my mind’s eye was Frankenstein’s Monster – the Karloff version – all stitched together.  ‘Frankenstein’ is one of my favourite novels and the 1931 film is one of my favourite movies of all time – and in fact both have featured in a previous art journal page – so I decided to go with that thought and see what came of it.

Perhaps because I have been working on my Crazy Critters series of 100 artworks, the idea morphed in my mind into a bunny version of Frankenstein’s Monster.  I painted the bunny in watercolour on watercolour paper and then used some red thread from my sewing kit to stitch patterns into his body.  I did not plan the position of the stitches so I just went with the flow, trying to maintain some sort of balance.  I then adhered the watercolour paper into my art journal using some decorative tape.  I think it turned out to be a pretty fun page.

Week 20 - Stitches

3 thoughts on “Frankenstein’s Bunny

  1. I think your crazy critters series definitely helped a lot with the challenge. Mr F’s bunny is so cute and cuddly. Good thing that you did the challenge and not skip it even though you don’t like stitching. I am leaving my page for this challenge blank as of now. I cannot find the mojo for it. Hopefully the next challenge will be of help.

    • After fabric last week and stitching this week, I was close to just skipping or doing my own thing then inspiration hit and I had this idea which involved minimal stitching and certainly no precision stitching. Maybe instead of using actual textiles you could draw the stitches? Maybe you could do one of your whimsy girls as if she is a rag doll?

Leave a Reply

