Quick, Intuitive Paintings

This week’s Life Book lesson was taken by Alena Hennessy and the subject was intuitive painting.  As I wrote in my last post about Life Book, intuitive painting does not come easily to me.  In fact, it does not really come to me at all.  I really struggle with it.  I am a control freak and  – as someone who draws rather than paints – I am not used to working in a looser, more fluid, instinctive way.  I like to plan things, to have a vision of where my art work is going.  Sitting down with a bunch of art materials and just seeing what emerges from playing around with them does not come naturally to me.  I was, therefore, very glad of the opportunity to learn another approach to intuitive painting.  We were instructed to set a timer and give ourselves just fifteen minutes to complete a painting, then ten and finally just five minutes.  The pressure of time meant I was forced to get out of my head and just go for it, layering paint down, using different tools, just doing whatever came to mind until the alarm went off.

This was my fifteen minute painting:

Week 16 - Intuitive Painting - 15 minutes

This was my ten minute painting:

Week 16 - Intuitive Painting - 10 minutes

This was my five minute painting:

Week 16 - Intuitive Painting - 5 minutes

I am not sure how successful I was in the end.  I think I did let my control freakery get in the way and impose some order on the painty chaos, especially in the two longer pieces.  However, I think I did take a step in the right direction so that maybe I have some prospect of building intuitive elements into my art work even if that aspect of the work is balanced out by the more controlled art work.

 

PS  I am working on a 100 Artworks Challenge at present which you can follow over at my other blog, Pict Ink.

11 thoughts on “Quick, Intuitive Paintings

  1. You obviously have a great grasp on colors even if you are not comfortable with letting go. I actually enjoy your last painting (without a central image) because I love the abstract, intuitive process myself.

    • Thank you very much. I always appreciate your comments and the lovely feedback you give me. I definitely prefer the shorter two to the one where I had fifteen minutes. Clearly that extra time was enough for me to get back inside my head again. The time limit approach to intuitive painting is one I will certainly try to replicate in future. Hopefully little by little I will loosen up a bit.

  2. I love the last one with the yellow circles! Great colors and in all of them, such a delightful playfulness. Also I think it’s interesting that you start with more time, working your way toward less time and more daring. Keep it up!

    • Thank you. I’m definitely going to try this technique again but not give myself as much time as 15 minutes. I think for me the shorter is the better. Thanks for your feedback and encouragement.

  3. You created some great intuitive works! I love colors and their whimisical spirit!
    Intuitive painting doesn’t come easy for me either. I have too many notions about what my paintings should be. I can do it easier on my iPad as a painting or animation. With painting I’m afraid of wasting a canvas and paint, but I did take a class once with Clive King on Intuitive Painting. It was good, but the most challenging workshop I have ever taken. I did manage to create something.

    • I’m glad I’m not alone in finding it so challenging. Those who do it well make it look so easy plus the emphasis on it being instinctive makes it seem like it should come naturally. The timer thing was a useful trick though with the shorter time spans. That definitely got me out of my head a bit. I will keep trying.

      Thanks very much for the comment and the follow. 🙂

    • You are very welcome, Adrien. I can’t take credit for the idea, of course, but I’m glad seeing it demonstrated on my blog has inspired you to give it a go. Thanks for visiting and commenting. 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Goddess Hathor | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

