Art Angel

This week we were gifted a bonus lesson on Life Book in order to give us some additional practice with drawing and painting faces.  The lesson was taken by Tamara Laporte and we were guided through the process of creating an Artist Guardian Angel.  I used Neocolor II crayons and acrylic paint and I think I reached for blues and greens because I am looking forward to the advent of Spring.  It was interesting to compare the angel I created with the mermaids I created a few weeks ago.  Used to working with more liquid media and gradually building up tones with glazes or being able to blend the media on the page while it was all still wet, I was struggling with acrylic paint as it was drying before I could properly blend.  I am gradually figuring out how to work the acrylic paint and am getting more efficient and quicker at painting with it too.  As you can see, I definitely still have lots of room for continued improvement but I am pleased to see the strides I have taken already.  Life Book was definitely a good investment for me.

Week 11 - Bonus - Art Angel

9 thoughts on “Art Angel

  1. I love your guardian angel! The blue hair flows nicely, almost as if a slight breeze is blowing through. I also like her facial features. The splattered background gives a sense of sparkle in the air. Very inspiring.

  2. Pingback: Male Portrait with Silver Disc | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

