Layers of my Heart

This week’s Life Book lesson was taken by Tamara Laporte.  The idea of the lesson was to reflect on the things we are most grateful for in life and represent those on a series of hearts which would be pinned together to form a sort of fanned book.  We then had to make a background with a concertina envelope in which to store the hearts.

It was almost like a plenary lesson in some ways as we were encouraged to use a range of mixed media techniques in order to create variety in the hearts.  I decided to make five hearts for no other reason than the fact that that was how many I could cut from my larger sheets of watercolour paper so I had to come up with four things I was most grateful for – since the fifth heart acts as the cover.

Week 10 - Layers of my Heart - Hearts

I asked my husband to pick his favourite from all of the hearts that I made in order to determine which would be the front cover.  The one he chose had been decorated with washi tape.  I used watercolour with finger painting and spatter for another heart, adopting the technique learned from the Jar of Favourites lesson.  I then glued a photo of my kids to that heart.  I used a page from an old dictionary for another heart.  I used a page with the word “husband” on it so that I could clip out that definition and add it to the collage.  I then added a photo of my husband and myself.

Week 10 - Layers of my Heart - Husband and Kids

The other two hearts both made use of Dylusions ink sprays.  One was simply two colours of spray that bled into each other in the centre.  I used that one to represent my family and friends who live far and near.  I used the globe image from a postage stamp for added interest.  The other heart was covered with stamped ink to create a pattern and then sprayed with a single colour of ink.  It was really difficult to settle on one particular thing for the final heart.  There are so many things I am grateful for.  I decided, therefore, to keep it quite broad and generic by having it represent all of the opportunities I have been given and might yet me given in future:

Week 10 - Layers of my Heart - Family & Friends and Opportunities

I used Dylusions ink sprays again for the background and envelope but this time it all went a bit pear-shaped.  I thought the yellow and green would work well together.  Neighbours on the colour wheel, colours of spring, the colour of leaves as Autumn arrives – but sadly also the colours of day old bruises.  Oh dear.  The lemon zest and dirty martini inks bled together to form a sludgy mossy colour that truly resembled nothing more than an old bruise.  Yuck.  Another lesson learned.  And I also learned that I completely suck at spraying through stencils.  Oh dear.  Again I was reminded that all mistakes are part of the learning process so I determined to use the sprayed paper regardless.  I stamped the title of the lesson on the top of the page and a trio of hearts on the concertina envelope.

Week 10 - Layers of my Heart - Envelope

Another week done and I am still managing to keep to the class schedule.  Yippee!

20 thoughts on “Layers of my Heart

    • Thank you very much, Stacy. It was a fun lesson, using all of the different methods to decorate the hearts, and it was great to be prompted to reflect on the things that really matter in life at a point where I was feeling a bit overwhelmed by the chaos of everyday life.

    • I’m sure you will catch up. I have to stay on top of it because I am never going to have big chunks of art time for catching up so I break lessons down into sections so I can leave a work in stages and then return to it so as to fit it around my life. I look forward to seeing your version when you do complete this lesson.

    • Thank you, Patricia. I feel like I should be spending more time on each lesson, to be honest, but I’m making it work with my schedule and context. There are some lessons I would definitely like to revisit in order to spend more time on them, however.

      • I can completely relate to that Laura. I took LB two years ago and there are STILL lessons that I downloaded that I haven’t had the time to do. The beauty of that offering is that you can do that, download them all and work at your own pace. Have fun with it ;))

      • I haven’t downloaded any lessons yet. I probably ought to be doing so as I go instead of having to do it all at once at the end of the year. It is a well-designed course in regards to the flexibility, I agree.

Leave a Reply

