Girl on a Swing

We were gifted a bonus lesson by Tamara Laporte last week on the Life Book course.  Happily, having had enough time to get through the scheduled lesson early in the week, I had time to work on the bonus lesson too.

The lesson was titled ‘Tree of Life’.   It was another practice in painting on top of collage elements and depicted a girl swinging from a tree.  I departed completely from the style of the exemplar but I used the techniques and the colour palette.   All Winter I seem to have been drawn to the cooler colours, the blues, purples, greens and pinks.  I probably need to challenge myself to use a warm colour scheme soon.  Perhaps that will force Spring to arrive!

This was truly a mixed media effort as I used watercolour (for the face), acrylics, collage, aquamarkers and neocolors all in the one piece.  This was a piece that definitely evolved over the days I spent on it and it most certainly went through a scruffy.  This was mainly thanks to the background looking chaotic but somehow painting over it and pushing it back saved it from ugliness.

One creeping realisation I have had since starting the Life Book course is that my ability to draw faces has regressed, markedly so, probably as a consequence of having not attended a life drawing class since I left Britain in October 2013.  This is something I will need to attend do in some way.  I cannot have my skills rusting any further.  Time to grease those artistic joints.

Week 9 - Tree of Life - Swing - Finished

14 thoughts on “Girl on a Swing

    • Thank you. I definitely need to focus on practicing faces. I can’t sign up for any more courses so I think YouTube might be a good place to look for tutorials. Mostly I just really miss life drawing class.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment. I’ve been drawn to those colours for most of the winter, starting with my twinchie advent calendar I think. I’m going to force myself into a different palette next time.

Leave a Reply

