Seeds of Love

This week’s Life Book lesson was entitled Seeds of Love and was taken by the course organiser, Tamara Laporte.  I am particularly enjoying her lessons because she goes into such depth explaining the concepts and techniques being demonstrated.  This particular lesson focused on value contrast, layering and whimsical versions of botanical, organic shapes.

This was definitely a piece that required both patience and faith.  There were so many steps involved in the process that patience was required to let each layer fully dry and set before progressing.  Happily that works for my schedule anyway as I do my arty stuff in bursts between other chores and commitments.  Faith was required because my version of this piece went through a definite ugly stage before it all pulled together into something coherent.  I had a better experience with the neocolors this time though I could have done a more skillful job of blending them.  It was really only when the black and white paint pens were added to reinforce the lines and shapes and create little details with the doodles that the ugly mess I was creating finally looked pleasing.  As per the lesson, I added a few words.  I chose words that connected to the botanical theme but which also could function as metaphors.

In many ways, the finished piece is reminiscent of the zombie animals I draw with ink.  It makes me think about creating a mixed media version of my zombie bunnies.

Week 6 - Seeds of Love

Please excuse the wonky angle in the photo.

12 thoughts on “Seeds of Love

  1. This is really beautiful Laura! I noticed that Tam’s piece only really came alive when she got to the last doodling stage too, so I wasn’t surprised to read your comment about that. I am only at the gesso stage – haven’t reached the ugly stage yet 🙂 Hoping to find time to start my plant shapes today……..

    • The ugly phase is not something I had particularly experienced with my art before. However, with my recent explorations in mixed media, I find that the layering involved means almost every piece goes through a stage that makes me want to scrap it. They mostly emerge from the ugly phase but can still be a bit blah or meh. Thanks for the link. I will check out your friend’s work. Thank you so very much for visiting and commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

