Shark Collage

The two prompts for this week’s Documented Life Project page(s) were to use under paper and the phrase “what lies beneath”.

I am actually a very neat and tidy artist.  The exception was that time when I got gold ink splatter and spray all over the kitchen but I learned my lesson from the tedious elbow grease involved in cleaning it all up.  I only started using under paper in the last few months and although I have been using the same sheets for all that time there is hardly anything on them.  Nothing about my under paper, therefore, was going to inspire me creatively.  So I had to think on a tangent.  I could have used the papers I create when cleaning my brayer but I decided to use magazine pages instead.  Still recycling something that would not primarily be considered an art material.  I wanted to set myself the personal challenge of creating a collage without using a pencil, scissors of craft knife.  Just torn paper and glue.

Having just visited the Adventure Aquarium, the phrase “what lies beneath” immediately made me think of the water and all of the life beneath the surface of the earth’s water.  Of course, one of the highlight’s of our trip to the aquarium was the shark tank.  I have always loved sharks.  It probably started with seeing ‘Jaws’ (still my favourite film) at an impressionable (very young) age but I then watched every shark documentary I could find and borrowed shark books from the library. Whenever I stayed overnight at my Grandad’s house, the book I would select from his book case every single time was a book of photos from an expedition of Jacques Cousteau’s and my favourite photos were of the sharks.  So I decided my collage would be of a shark.

I used gelatos to add some blue pigment to the art journal page.  I have a love-hate relationship with gelatos.  I want to love them completely, because they are so creamy and smooth when worked with water, but I do not get good results with them.  Since I know people who rave about them and get gorgeous results, I know the problem is the workman rather than the tools.  Still, it created a background.  I then tore some primarily blue pages out of a magazine and then tore those into rough shapes and adhered them to the page with gel medium.  I think the only skill I can claim is that I spotted a blue venetian blind on one page and I tore that so that the lines of the blind became the gills of the shark.  I could have torn up some teeny tiny pieces of white paper to make the teeth and then the eye but we had book shelves to construct and Super Bowl food to cook so I took the easy option (cop out) of using paint pens to add those details.

Week 5 - Underpaper and What Lies Beneath

My shark makes me chuckle and that has some merit on these grey days of ice rain and slush, cold noses and toes when mirth can be in short supply.  I also found it really liberating and fun to construct a collage just by ripping and tearing paper with no scaffolding, preparation or structure so I think I will keep trying that approach in future – perhaps with less goofy results.

 

11 thoughts on “Shark Collage

  1. I love your shark! ❤ He looks mildly friendly despite those sharp teeth – which I am sure you could not have gotten with even the teeniest-tiniest bits of paper ………. You obviously have a talent at building shapes from nothing!

  2. Not exactly sure how I ended up here, but yay hello Laura! Your shark is indeed awesome, and the lessons of “life book” sound phenomenal. I know nothing about Scotland (so reading some of those recent posts here were very informational- especially the hunted food one- hehe), but I do know about Pa having grown up in the Lehigh Valley 🙂

    • Thank you. I think sometimes art should just be fun and make us chuckle. My shark would never be frame or even “tacked on wall” display worthy but I had fun creating him and he makes me smile every time I flick past that page in my art journal. My kids liked him so much that I made Valentines Day collage cards for my kids in the same style (to be blogged about later). My kids are my biggest fans so if something appeals to them then I’m happy. Thanks so much for visiting and commenting. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Card Collages | A Pict in PA

  4. Pingback: Altered Book of Monsters – #55 – Shark Man | Pict Ink

  5. Pingback: Shark Reverse Silhouette | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

