Beacon of Light

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have committed to Life Book 2015 for this year – my first ever online art course – in order to develop my skills and confidence with mixed media.  The first lesson was by Tamara Laporte, the creative mastermind behind the course, and involved the creation of a figurative painting on the theme of “Beacon of Light”.

I followed the lesson as closely as I could with the media and materials that I possess but used my own style of drawing for the figure instead of adopting the tutor’s whimsical style.  This was my first experience of using Caran D’Ache Neocolor II water soluble crayons and already I am smitten.  They are rich and creamy with strong, vibrant pigment and a little goes a long way – which is just as well since they were a bit of an investment.  The tutorial video incorporated glitter to add additional sparkle and light to the painting.  I don’t own glitter so I used some of my gold ink for some of the key elements of the drawing and used dots of white acrylic paint to suggest light.

There are definitely things I would change about the painting if I were to start over but for a first lesson I am pretty pleased with what emerged on the paper.

Week 1 - Beacon of Light - 2

Week 1 - Beacon of Light - 3

16 thoughts on “Beacon of Light

    • I know that feeling of getting behind. It is only the second week of January and already I am struggling to get on top of my schedule and art commitments. We probably both need to not get angsty about it as that kills creativity. I was surprised by how long the Beacon of Light took me. I am used to working quicker. It is all the layering and waiting for a stage to dry. On the other hand, working in stages makes it easier to fit into my schedule. I look forward to seeing your version.

  1. I love your beacon of light. I also love that you incorporated your own style and how you made do without all the necessary materials. I believe that when you work on the things that you have and is not subjected to the call of acquiring all the necessary materials, is when you are most creative, and innovative. Though it is also exciting to work when you have a complete list of supplies. Thanks for sharing your experiences with the neocolor crayons. I am saving up for that and hopefully by Christmas I will also get mine.

    • Thank you very much. That’s very kind of you. I am still very new to mixed media as I have always primarily worked with pencil, charcoal, pen and ink. I am enjoying trying new things with my art though. I am glad you think I met this challenge. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

      • I’m really impressed by anyone who can draw or paint. I like to draw stick figures. I’m so bad I have to do them in pencil first. Then when I get them the way I like them, I trace them with markers. Seriously. I suck!

      • It just takes lots of practice. I have always loved drawing so I havd been practising my entire life. Plus, of course, we cannot all be good at everything. Clearly photography is where your creative talents lie.

  2. Wonderful! A tremendous success! And developing one’s own style should be one of the long-term goals of any artistic endeavor. Your style will continue to evolve, and you are very wise to allow it to do so.

    Love the color scheme, the white dot motif, and the creative use of the printed page snippets. Also: very nice shading effect to cast the collar bone into relief. Excellent job, Laura! : )

    • Thank you very much, Mark. I really appreciate your feedback and encouragement. The eyes are quite scary in this one. My face drawing skills were completely rusty at this point. They are gradually improving.

  3. Pingback: Traveller Figure with Cardinal | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

