Autumn Leaf Fairy

This week’s Documented Life Project prompt was to incorporate leaves onto the page.  As much as I love seeing all the Autumn leaves transforming into myriad colours, glowing and glistering, burnished by the sun, I was not feeling inspired by this week’s challenge.  I really can’t explain why.  I had a few ideas but nothing that really got my creative pulse going.

I have been thinking recently about trying to progress with my plan of incorporating mixed media art techniques into my more regular, illustrative style of art and, therefore, determined to try that in response to this week’s challenge.  I was pondering the fact that, as a child, I had a trilogy of Flower Fairy books by Cicely Mary Barker whose illustrations I used to pore over.  I resolved, therefore, to draw my own fairy in my Art Journal.  As I have mentioned before, I have a large oak tree in the garden of my new home so I drew an Oak Fairy complete with an acorn hat.  I coloured her with watercolour and outlined with black ink.  I washed bright yellow over the background of the page and decided to use a leaf stencil for added interest and to further contribute to the week’s leaf theme.  I still need my learner plates when it comes to stencilling because I did not blot the paint adequately, leading to rather blotching leaf images.  Lesson learned and yet another art journalling mistake chalked up to educational experience.  I finished the page with a quotation from Albert Camus: “Autumn is a second Spring when every leaf is a flower”.  I keep resolving to improve my typography, learn some new styles of handwriting, but somehow I keep defaulting to my own everyday handwriting.  Usually I do so because I am pressed for time but this week it was because I had already messed the page up with my sloppy leaf background so I was not really motivated to go to much effort with the lettering.

My Oak Fairy was for DLP week 44 so there are now a mere 8 weeks left in this particular challenge – and alarmingly just 8 weeks until the end of 2014.  Although I am going to use my blog Pict Ink for my art work, I will continue to share my DLP pages in this blog.

Week 44 - Leaves

10 thoughts on “Autumn Leaf Fairy

  1. I actually love the not-quite-perfect leaf stencil background. Leaves in nature are not perfect, either, and it keeps the page from being ‘too precious’ or precise. And if that is your everyday handwriting, it is amazing! I wish I could write like you and do illustrative drawings like you!

  2. She’s so cute! I’m SO behind on the DLP. I like the stenciling too by the way. I’m a member of the club that says you do NOT have to stencil perfectly for it to be beautiful. Those paint variations just add to the uniqueness of the work. And you have absolutely great handwriting… in fact, if I had your handwriting, I’d default to it every time too ;P

  3. know what, i think imperfections are more beautiful than perfect ones, so your imperfect leaves are awesome! i do love your fairy too and her leaves like whimsical skirt is so pretty!

Leave a Reply

