40 Drawings in 40 Days – #35 – Iris

Iris was the Greek goddess of the rainbow and also acted as a messenger to the gods because she could travel from one end of the world to the other and travelled speedily with the wind.  Indeed, she was married to the west wind, Zephyrus.

I feel quite lucky to have drawn Iris today since it led effectively to a simple line drawing with a quick brush of watercolour stripes over the top.  We have a cinema trip and a restaurant dinner with six kids as a birthday celebration today so I would not have had time in my schedule for anything more elaborate.  In classical art, Iris is depicted either as a rainbow or as a young winged girl.  I decided to combine both in my drawing.  I painted the spectrum stripes from the top to the bottom of my paper so that the rainbow cut right through and across the figure.  I then gave her silvery wings since the word “iridescent” is derived from Iris’ name.  I don’t have iridescent ink so silver was the best I could do.

35b - Iris

Iris

Leave a Reply

