Packing Yet Again

Less than a year ago, I packed up all of our possessions – having donated, sold or recycled a good proportion of it – all distilled down to the things we treasured or needed most.  I generated over a hundred cardboard boxes, all packed full since I applied my spatial awareness abilities and Tetris skills to the max, and off the boxes went, ready to be shipped to our new abode.

Less than eight months ago, our shipping finally arrived from Scotland and I began the process of unpacking everything and finding it a new home in our rental house.

Now I am packing everything back into those exact same cardboard boxes ready for yet another move.  As I did when we were preparing to leave Scotland, I have started with the books.  Books are very important to me.  A house always feel more homely when I have books all around me.  Packing up the books, therefore, is an important stage in disconnecting from one place and preparing for pastures new.  Plus we own a massive number of books so getting the packing of those out of the way makes a lot of sense on a practical level.  As of this afternoon, all of the grown up books are packed and the living rooms look very spartan without them.  Tomorrow I pack the children’s books.  Then it’s onto board games and toys.

Today we also booked a removal company to move our furniture to our new house.  It’s getting real.  It’s really happening.

In less than a year of living here in America, we will have bought and moved into our very own house.  Not bad.

And such a relief too.  Our rental property has been lovely to live in and our landlord has been very good but psychologically it has been a big adjustment to go from being a home owner to a tenant, to not have the stability and security of our own home.  So I am relieved that we will once again be home owners and that we will be living in a house that we can invest in and turn into a proper home – as opposed to just the house we happen to live in.

When we move house later this month, this will be the FOURTH house I will have officially lived in in under a year.  Official means that I actually registered as being resident at that address otherwise it would be five houses.  Four houses in three different countries in under a year.  That is A LOT of moving.  I am so done with being a nomad.

Once I unpack these cardboard boxes I am freecycling them because I refuse to move again for a very long time.

16 thoughts on “Packing Yet Again

  1. This must be very stressful, not only to have moved in a new country but also to keep on moving houses. Hoping that this is your last move for a long time and that you’ll love your new home 🙂

    • It has indeed been stressful. We are very much looking forward, however, to this move since this will be into our own home in which we can settle, put down some roots and make it our own. I didn’t even unpack all of our possessions in the rental house knowing it was only ever temporary. Thanks for reading and for the good wishes.

  2. Hi,
    I’ve browsed a little here, amongst your posts tagged with ‘immigration’. All interesting stuff. Haven’t read everything, but am I right in assuming your husband had dual citizenship? Otherwise it would perhaps had been even more complicated to just break up and go to the U.S.

    I was facing fifty when I moved to Canada.

    • Yes. My husband is a dual UK/US citizen. Now that he is resident in the US, our children are also dual nationals – sadly he could not pass it on before as he had not lived in the US long enough past the age of 14, just missed it in fact – so now I am the only immigrant in the family. It has been a saga.

      So how long have you been in Canada? Are you glad you emigrated? We have no regrets so far but, of course, it is still early days and we are still in a transitional period to a degree.

      Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and reading.

      • I came here from Sweden back in 2004. Time flies. Met love on the web! The procedure to obtain my Permanent Residency [=green card] took its time, but it wasn’t all that bad. English is my second language. The first, five years, we lived in Quebec, which is entirely French speaking, and I’m not. Now we’re an hour’s drive north of the Maine border…

      • Quebec is lovely but definitely very Francophone, passionately so. Apart from people finding my Scottish accent difficult, I am definitely lucky that I have not had to deal with a language barrier. That must have added complications for you. It is lovely to chat to someone who has shared the immigration experience. Thanks so much for commenting / chatting.

      • It was only the French that presented itself as a barrier, though. It happens that people ask me where that accent comes from.

        I have a blogging buddy from Scotland — she’s lived in Australia for close to twenty years! 🙂

Leave a Reply

