Gettysburg with Grandparents

Yesterday we decided to take the Pict grandparents on a trip to Gettysburg.  This represented the second trip the kids and I have taken there since we emigrated to America in October and it was the third trip Mr Pict has taken there since September and at least the sixth trip he has taken there in total.  I think it is fair to say that Mr Pict is obsessed with Gettysburg.  He’s a Civil War geek generally but Gettysburg looms large in his geekiness in particular.  He was, therefore, keen to act as a guide to my parents and share with them the highlights of the battlefield site.

As well as being of particular significance to the way in which the battle unfolded, Little Round Top was an area the boys had especially enjoyed when we visited in April so it was to there that we headed first.   While Mr Pict explained the importance of Little Round Top to the Union’s victory to my parents, the boys scampered off and began leaping from rock to rock.  I have vertigo and also don’t like the thought of my kids smashing their little bodies off rocks so they were making me wig out quite a bit.  The youngest one, for all that his legs are short, was making daring leaps from boulder to boulder.  Meanwhile the middle two were standing on the edge of a precipice and leaning forward to see the slope below.  And all the while the oldest was balancing clumsily on one leg at a time.  Every last nerve in my body was being shredded.  Like Achilles safeguarding my heel, however, I do try to avoid letting my kids know that they are freaking me out lest they take that modicum of success and run with it in order to defeat me entirely.  I don’t need them challenging their strength, balance and even gravity just to determine my breaking point.  I, therefore, avoided even looking at them as much as possible when they were doing anything especially precarious, even turning my back at times, and any time my neurotic dam was in danger of being breached I would just herd them on to the next location where they could seek out new hazards.  Nevertheless they had a lot of fun while  – between Mr Pict and some docents in authentic costume – my parents were crammed full of knowledge about the defence of Little Round Top.

2014-07-05 12.01.33 DSC_0006 DSC_0009 DSC_0027 DSC_0029 DSC_0033 DSC_0043 DSC_0045 DSC_0048 DSC_0051 DSC_0063

Having done Little Round Top, it was only natural that we should proceed to Devil’s Den.  This time, however, my husband and children did not scramble through thorny thickets to get from A to B.  Instead we all took the car.  The large rock formations of Devil’s Den – which had provided such excellent cover for snipers – obviously enticed my mountain goat children to leap and bound and scale and scramble once more.  And once more I had to turn my back as they stood on the edge of sheer drops and crawled up steep slopes of rock.  Ironically the only injury happened when my 5 year old – who had just ascended a boulder with a pretty challenging gradient and had then leapt across a gulley between boulders – tripped over nothing on a flat-as-a-pancake footpath.  Among other things, we found the scene of Alexander Gardner’s now controversial photograph known as ‘Home of a Rebel Sharpshooter’.  Since I have an interest in the history of photography and my own interest in the Civil War is mainly to do with photography, that was one of the major highlights of the trip for me.

DSC_0074 DSC_0081 DSC_0082 DSC_0092 DSC_0095 DSC_0097 DSC_0101 DSC_0105

After a quick nip around the Visitors’ Centre to use the bathroom facilities and absorb the air conditioning, we headed out to walk to the National Cemetery.  On my previous two excursions to Gettysburg, I had never made it to the Cemetery so I was determined to go this third time.  This was partly because I just happen to like cemeteries but mostly because it was at the dedication of the cemetery that Abraham Lincoln delivered the Gettysburg Address.  All eight of us started off on the trek to the Cemetery but my Mum decided to pause and rest up near the memorial to Maryland’s soldiers.  Mr Pict and the boys made it as far as the Cemetery but then decided to pootle around on the grass.  Therefore, only my Dad and I actually ventured far enough into the cemetery to see the monument that was the site for Lincoln’s profoundly moving and eloquent speech.

DSC_0125

DSC_0127 DSC_0135 DSC_0138 DSC_0142 DSC_0145 DSC_0149 DSC_0151 DSC_0158 DSC_0160 DSC_0166 DSC_0168

The final leg of our Gettysburg tour was a quick stop off at the Pennsylvania Monument.  Mr Pict, Grandpa Pict and the 5 year old did ascend to the top.  I not only don’t like heights but I don’t like confined spaces either so the narrow, enclosed staircase wigged me out enough that I could not compel myself to go to the top even to capture some great views on camera.  Maybe next time.  Because being married to a Gettysburg geek means that it is inevitable that there will be a next time.

DSC_0171 DSC_0172

4 thoughts on “Gettysburg with Grandparents

  1. Ah Gettysburg! I understand Mr Pict’s obsession…he would have fit imperfectly with my family! We used to be Civil War reenactors, and Gettysburg became like a second home to us. Little Round Top was also the place we always went to….Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain and the 20th Maine were our heroes. If you’re interested in Chamberlain, two great books about him, the 20th, and G’burg: try In the Hands of Providence, and The Soul of the Lion. Oh, and awesome book on wartime photography and the original “before and after” photo series: Gettysburg (A Moment in Time) by William Frassanito. 🙂

    • I’m always on the lookout for new Civil War books for Mr Pict as he has quite the collection already but is always looking to expand his Civil War library so thank you very much indeed for those recommendations.

  2. Pingback: Gettysburg – Again | A Pict in PA

  3. Pingback: Annual Gettysburg Trip | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

