In Search of a House to call our Home

As you may have ascertained from previous blog entries, the biggest stressor in this whole relocation for me and the aspect that has upset my equilibrium the most has been our limbo situation of waiting for our house in Scotland to sell before we can find a permanent home here in Pennsylvania.

Mr Pict and I have owned property since we were 21 so even switching to being tenants in a rental property once more – something we have not experienced since we were students – has required some adjustment.  However, the most difficult aspect of being in a rental property has been not having a place to call home.  We have the house that we live in but we are all too aware that it is not our home.  We have personalised it to the extent that it is possible, such as by hanging our own art work, but we are always aware that it is someone else’s house that we are living in and that our stay there will be short term.  We do feel very lucky to have found this property and we have loved living here – and the boys love living next door to their school – but we very much need to start putting down established roots here and investing in our future in bricks and mortar.

Of course, we could not start looking to buy until our house in Scotland had sold so that the equity was released.  We loved our house.  We had it built for us so it was very much “our” house.  When we left the maternity hospital with each successive baby, they came back to that home.  It is where all of their childhood memories were based, birthdays, celebrations, achievements, fun, the occasional episode of melodrama or minor catastrophe.  We also had superb neighbours – the best neighbours we had ever had indeed – and were in the middle of a lovely community with a beautiful view down the loch to boot.  In the months running up to leaving that house, knowing it was definitely happening, I had to start mentally and emotionally detaching myself from the house.  I had to keep reminding myself that home is wherever my husband and the kids are, that home is not bricks and mortar but is instead all of the emotional stuff, the joy and the chaos of family life.  It remained a challenge, however, because of course the house reverberated with the memories of all of that emotional stuff.

And then at some stage that house, which we had loved so much and which had so many connotations for us, became an albatross around our necks.

A small community with a tiny population makes for a slow housing market.  Like tortoise sloooooooooooooow.  We had a feeling that our house would either be snapped up quickly or would sit empty for quite a while.  Unfortunately it was the latter.  The house went up for sale when we left our home for the last time in early September and just this last week we finally, finally, after some false starts and false hope, had a formal offer lodged with our lawyer.  If it all goes to plan then the sale will be completed in late June.  We will be so incredibly relieved when it does.  

Meanwhile, since I arrived in America in October, I have been viewing houses online.  I signed up for email alerts so that any new property that has at least four bedrooms and is sited in our school district pings right into my inbox.  It was a knowledge gathering exercise so that I could be as informed as possible when the time came to actually embark on looking for a permanent home.  What I soon realised was that the catchment area for the boys’ elementary school is really rather small and there are not many four bedroom houses within that small geographical area and some houses that are large enough to accommodate a family of six were out of our budget.  So as the months have rolled on, I have become increasingly despondent about our Scottish house still being unsold and increasingly anxious about the prospect of finding the right house to buy and increasingly fretful about our timeline because we really want to avoid getting into another lease period.  We very much want to cease paying both a mortgage and rent because that is a whole other stressor.

Anyway, once the offer on our Scottish house was formally lodged, we decided it might be smart to start properly looking at houses.  I knew there were four on the market that were feasible for us so we contacted a realtor to set up viewings for us.  In the time it took for the realtor to phone the selling agents, two of the houses had sold.  I had noted, through my obsessive real estate stalking, that houses here sold quickly but the pace has clearly picked up since we got into Spring.  I assume everyone wants to move before the next school year commences.  Mr Pict and I quickly realised that there was going to be no being casual about this, viewing houses and pondering and contemplating as such.  We needed to be decisive.  Luckily, we have had to make rapid, immediate and instinctive decisions before when buying property so we have the required skill set if not the nerves for such an undertaking.  I drew up a list, in table form – as I am wont to do – of criteria for our house hunt.  There were things that were essential – such as being in the catchment area of the elementary and having a minimum of four bedrooms – and things that were preferable – such as being within walking distance of school and having a finished basement – and things we really did not want – like a swimming pool or being sited on a busy road.  Being armed with that checklist would keep our heads in the right place and then we could rely on gut feelings about places and a vision for how we could make each place function as our home.

On Friday, therefore, Mr Pict and I went to view two houses.  The first was beautifully presented but was just too small for us and was especially lacking in storage space.  The second, however, ticked all of the boxes – literally all of the boxes on my checklist – and just felt right for us.  We could instantly imagine ourselves living there and could envision how we would transform it into the Pict family home.  To cut an already long story short, we were decisive and lodged an offer and it has been accepted.  Squeal.  The next hurdle is the survey of the house – which I think is called a home inspection here in America – but if nothing untoward is discovered then we should be able to progress with the purchase.  It’s nerve-wracking but for the first time in months the nervous energy is exciting rather than coming from a place of panic and dread.

So keep your fingers crossed, join me in touching wood, send out positive vibes into the cosmos and wish us luck.

With all of these property developments this week, that was what was on my mind when the latest Documented Life Project challenge was posted.  Because I was thinking about what home actually means, that became the theme of the page.  The challenge this week was to incorporate embroidery or embroidery floss onto the page.  I have sewing skills limited to taking up hems, replacing buttons and making sock monkeys and sock monsters.  Embroidery is beyond me.  I, therefore, kept that element of the challenge to a minimum and just ran a tacking stitch around the text.  I created a background using watercolour paint and ink.  One of the creative things I do is carve lino blocks and I had a small one of a bird inside a cage so I utilised that as a stamp and stamped onto a brown paper bag which I then stuck onto the page.  I picked out some of the detail in the printed image with red and white ink.  Although I wish I had used deeper, darker colours for the background, I am quite pleased with how this page turned out.

Image

Image

Image

5 thoughts on “In Search of a House to call our Home

  1. Oh my goodness.. as I was reading your story I was having flashbacks to my own family’s story about a year ago. (Only we did not move from Scotland. Ha!) We moved from Pennsylvania to the Washington DC metro area, and the rest of our stories are the same. We had a nice rental house, but as you said, there was always that “underlying” tone that it was not our house. And the real estate market did move quick when we were looking to buy. That was quite frustrating to me. I like to have a day or two to think on such big things, but that just was not an option…

    Congratulations on your new home! I hope you get settled into it speedily, smoothly, and happily. 🙂

    • Thanks for sharing that experience, Amy. It’s good to know that we are not the only people forced to impulse but a house and also that it all works out in the end.

  2. Great news about the house Laura! Just about every second house in Lochgilphead seems to be for sale at the moment so you have done really well. I’m so pleased you have found a new house to buy and hope that all goes smoothly with the sale & purchase. We still miss all the Picts here!! X

    • Thanks, Jenny. I’m not counting my chickens yet but hopefully nothing snaggles with the sale and fingers crossed we can proceed with buying the house here. It will be such a relief to get out of limbo and have an actual home again. We miss everyone too. I was just saying the other day how I’m still not used to walking around here and not just bumping into people to chat to.

  3. Pingback: Whale and Caged Bird Lino Block Prints | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

