Poconos Art Journal Page

Last week’s challenge for the Documented Life Project was to create a page inspired by a favourite pair of shoes.  As that was when my husband and I were enjoying our mini-break exploring the Poconos, the choice of shoes was obvious: my hiking sandals.  They are quite old now but I always take them on trips with me because they are just so comfy.  Although I have bought a newer, replacement pair, I always end up popping the old pair on because they have moulded perfectly to the shape of my feet.  I also have fond memories of trips, hikes and explorations attached to them.  Creating a page inspired by my hiking sandals also seemed like an appropriate way to document our trip in my Art Journal.

I used a mixture of peat brown ink and watercolour to paint the shoes, which I then outlined with black ink.  I used leaf shaped stamps and postage stamps to give the page a bit more texture and layering and added the washi tape border for added visual interest.  The quotation was borrowed from a former teaching colleague of mine as his words (and I don’t know if they were original to him) always stuck in my mind because I enjoy travelling so much.

Considering I am so new to art journalling, I was pretty pleased with the outcome of this page as I felt it was unified and was my most mixed media effort to date.

Image

One thought on “Poconos Art Journal Page

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day Journal Page | A Pict in PA

Leave a Reply

